This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips owed.

Wondering what legal recourse I may have. I work in a restaurant. My employer will commonly not tip out the wait-staff. He just will tell us what we are owed. I am owed 275 dollars total from a combination of 4 days. The earliest day being May. The most recent date being a month ago. Is there anyway for me to force the subject so I get my money, or do I just have to wait till I get it. In the past I always have gotten it but having to wait three months for tip money is not acceptable in my mind.

hmm

Originally posted by Server148
    Wondering what legal recourse I may have. I work in a restaurant. My employer will commonly not tip out the wait-staff. He just will tell us what we are owed. I am owed 275 dollars total from a combination of 4 days. The earliest day being May. The most recent date being a month ago. Is there anyway for me to force the subject so I get my money, or do I just have to wait till I get it. In the past I always have gotten it but having to wait three months for tip money is not acceptable in my mind.
    I would think that tip money should be paid the night you earned it,but if your boss pays you your percentage,and even tells you how much you have coming to you,he should include it in your next check. How does he decide who gets what? Is this a catering service,or do you just wait/waitress,and hand your tips to him? Sorry just trying to see how this works,I have only bartended,****tailed,and hostess and waitressed,and with all of these I always had full control of my tips and my boss never touched it lol! Thanks for the answers. If he is obligated to pay you your tips as part of your wages,I would contact your states Department of Labor,and ask them,what the proper steps are for you to get these tips. Good luck to you!!

Comment