This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Non Compete Clause New Jersey

I have been working for a company for 5 years. It is a national company. Last year there was were two employees that left and started their own company to compete with the company I work for. About 2 months after this happened everyone got a "noncompete clause" which pretty much says that I can not work for a past, present or future client or competitor for 18 months. Is that legal? It was presented that if we did not sign it we would be terminated. Is that legal? I am asking because I signed it at the time because I did not want to lose my job. Now I have a greater oppertunity- unsolisited by me to work for a competitor. Is the noncompete really enforceable?
    Last edited by wishingforthebest; 11-10-2007, 10:06 AM.

Originally posted by wishingforthebest View Post
    Is the noncompete really enforceable?
    Some states don't allow them at all. Others have severe restrictions on what is allowed and what is prohibited. In some of those states, one bad clause in the document tosses the whole thing out while judges in some other states will simply blue line the offending clause and leave the rest of it intact.

You need to show the document to an attorney experienced in these matters in your state.
    Senior Professional in Human Resources and Certified Staffing Professional with over 30 years experience. Any advice provided is based upon experience and education, but does not constitute legal advice.

Comment

I would have a field day with such a clause since it was brought through coercive measures.
      Herbert J. Tan, Esq.
      www.employmentlawfirms.com/tanhj

Comment

Laborlitigator, please delete the addresses and phone numbers from your signature. The name of the firm and the link to the website are fine.