X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Family Emergency in Minnesota

Hi
    I am wondering about alot of things concerning my present employer...but the one that has me really steamed is this:
    My son has some serious physic problems. I have been battling these issues with him for several years. I informed my boss of things as they happened and about 1 month ago told her that I would need to take a leave of absence soon because of some testing and doctors appts for him. 2 weeks ago I asked for her to cut my hours back by 2 days in a pay period (2 weeks). Not a problem. She did that. But insisted that I keep my weekend hours, no problem for me. I explained to her that I was unsure when this leave of absence would need to take place or for how long and would probably not be able to give her much notice at all if any. See my son was on a waiting list at 3 different places to be inpatient for evaluation. And when they call and say "time to go" it means get there now! We finally got that call on Wed 3/8/06 and I was at work. When I called around to get someone to come in and work for me and was having no luck I called her at home of course she had already left for the day (this was at 4PM), she told me that "the hospital will just have to bend a little, when they say to bring him now they mean as soon as you can, you can wait till you get off work at 10:00PM!" Mind you we were taking him to Sioux Falls, SD which is a minimum of 2 hours away. I work at an Assisted Living facility with 14 residents and only one girl on during a shift. Our social worker was great! She helped me call around until I found someone. She even offered to stay until someone could come in. I would just have to give meds before I left because she is not certified to do it. My boss is an RN and could have come in and worked for me until someone else could get there. I had told her about the situation in advance and feel that this was a family emergency. Am I wrong? Do I have to give a 2 wee