This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Previously Employed College Graduate Eligible for Unemployment? Minnesota

I'm having a hard time finding any documentation on whether I am eligible for Minnesota Unemployment.

I've been working in Minnesota since I was 17 years old and am now 25 years old. In Spring of 2009 I graduated from graduate school and haven't been able to find full time work. From 18-24 I worked during the school year for North Dakota State University and during the summer for a company in Minnesota. Since graduation I have been living at home working whatever temp jobs I can get.

I feel I should be eligible for unemployment for two reasons:

1)The job I worked at for 5 years while in college paid 8.50 without benefits. Thus I was not making enough to live on and had to move home in order to survive. Once home I am unable to find employment.

2)The job I worked at for 5 years while in college was dependent on my being in school, while I was not fired from the position I was no longer eligible for this position because I wasn't in school anymore. Thus I did not quit willingly.

Do either of these reasons qualify me for unemployment and under which clause? Do I file for unemployment in Minnesota or North Dakota?
    Any answers or places I could find further information would be ever so helpful. Thanks!

Was your employment on campus under the federal work-study program? If so, I believe that colleges are exempt from contributing to the unemployment system for work-study students which means that you cannot collect unemployment.
    I am not able to respond to private messages. Thanks!

Comment

No

No I was not working under a work study program.

Is there any documentation for applicability of recent college grads?

Comment