This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Louisiana-given a non-compete to sign

I work for a family company, in which I own a percentage of the company. The majority is owned by one of my siblings. I've been working for our family business for more than 20 years, but I was just given a non-compete to sign which states if my employment terminates I am unable to perform this same type of business in specific parishes (which many are named) in Louisiana along with several counties in Mississippi for a period of 2 years. I am a sales person for our family business. I am not paid anywhere near the industry standard in this industry, but I've always felt a loyalty to stay with the business my father began from absolutely nothing almost 50 years ago.

I am not being given time to have an attorney review the contract since I've been given only a couple of days to return it signed, or I may not have a job. I also have to add, all managers are currently attending a company wide meeting. I was given the contract at the end of the first day, and was told it had to be returned by the end of the final day of our meetings. I am feeling coerced into signing something that I should be given time to review. What are my legal rights? Please help me with some advice. I'm running out of time.

Thank you.
    Last edited by Maria G; 09-29-2008, 07:39 PM. Reason: "add" spelled wrong

If you don't have time to have it reviewed by an attorney, your only choices are to sign it or not sign it with possible consequences. I would certainly try to have it reviewed by an attorney. Non-competes are enforceable in La. if worded correctly.
    Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment