This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employee Schedule Illinois

My employer has been looking to eliminate OT by asking it's employees to rework their normal workdays to keep us at 40 hrs. For example, if I needed to work 14 hours on Tuesday I might be asked to start my days Thurs and Fri at 11:00am and finish at 5:00pm (our normal day is 8-5). I actually don't have a problem with doing this, but I'm curious as to how/when an employer should set an employee's work day. I've been working at this company for more than 10 years and my day has always been 8am to 5pm M-F. Is my employer allowed to tell me on Friday that next week, my hours for Mon, Tues, and Wed are going to be 8-10am then 12-2pm then 5-7pm and then 9-11pm? I know that sounds ridiculous but I just wanted to use an extreme example to get my point across. Is there anything that restricts an employer from this kind of scheduling? Also, is an employer required to set an employee's work schedule for the following week a set amount of time prior to that week, or could it be changed daily. Again, using an extreme example, could my employer tell me that on Monday that I work 8-5, then on Tuesday at 8am tell me my day starts a 2pm and ends at 10pm and that I should show up for work on Wednesday at 6am for 4 hours then be back to work at noon to finish my day? Is an employer required to give an employee a minimum amount of notice before changing a workday that will typically be 8-5 most of the time? Thanks in advance for any info

Is there anything that restricts an employer from this kind of scheduling?

No, it is quite legal. Nothing in the law requires an employer to allow you to go over 40 hours.

Also, is an employer required to set an employee's work schedule for the following week a set amount of time prior to that week, or could it be changed daily.

It can be changed as often as the employer wants to. There is no law requiring any particular about of notice for a schedule.