Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do i have a case against this GA bank?

Sorry this may be a little long winded but i will try to be to the point. Thanks for any help.

I have been working at a bank in Georgia for the past 3 years. When i was hired I was presented a salary figure offer. After about one year the company went to an electronic program for non-exempt employees to clock in and clock out. This is my first "real" job after college so i wasn't sure what exempt and non-exempt meant. The nature of our work is very seasonal. In banking we are very busy at the end of the year and up through April 15th. Many weeks i would work more than 40 hours during this time and would clock out at 40 hours since the company and managers said NO OVERTIME. I, coming out of college wanted to make a good impression so i would come in early, leave late, and would even work weekends and holidays to get work done. All of which i was not clocked in, in order to NOT make overtime. Many weeks i got to 40 hours by Friday morning, would clock out at 40 and would continue to work until 6 or 7 o'clock that night. On the flip side, during the slow summer season we sometimes wouldnt be so busy so my manager would bump me up to 40 hours if I only had 37 hours of work ,for example, to make sure my paycheck was consistent with my salary.

About a year ago my manager went to another bank and i had a new manager come in. She was totally on board with the system that the department used in regards to our hours.

About two months ago, one of my managers peers became our new demartment manager. And low and behold she doesn't like my manager. About two weeks ago we were fired for "intentionally falsifying company records". The new department manager didn't pull records for any of the other managers and their assistants time records. My manager was targeted for superficial reasons and i was collateral damage, at least that's how i see it.