This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this legal? Florida Florida

Hi...I work as a security guard (class D) and I have come into a few situations that I am confused if they are even legal. Please bear with me as this will be quite long...

Within my training period and 2-3 weeks after, I was verbally abused by one of the employees. I am of a specific orientation and I was called a f*gg*t....I am also not of the white persuasion and I was called a n*gg*r. I brought this up to my supervisor who said "Oh, that's uncalled for" but the employee was still allowed to stay at the site. This made it very uncomfortable as we worked the same days, but different shifts, but saw each other on shift change and that is where the comments were made. Not to mention, the other employees have come to me and our supervisor saying he has said these things and that they found it inappropriate. One particular night on shift change, I was briefing on days events and he verbally attacked me yet again and was in my face. The next day I confronted my supervisor again and said I can't keep working around this guy because I am very uncomfortable. The company did not terminate the employee, instead that relocated him. This particular employee also carries a firearm on his person (concealed) on a site that is strictly an unarmed position. Management is aware, however they say since they can't "see" it, they can't do anything about it.