X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fighting for my Appeal from unemployment Fl. Florida

Im new to this so here goes.

I was laid off in the end of May 2010 from my original waitress job, I also started training for another job in may and during training i realized i was unable to comply with the requirements of duties they wanted. So i quit during training. I thought pay was based on finished training,(Ive worked many restaurant jobs like this before,where pay was based on full training) So i didnt think i would get a paycheck.

I filled for unemployment got it and less then a month later was reviewed and was later told i didnt file pay earned. I was really confussed, and found out i DID have a paycheck. After trying to talk with Unemployment and figure out all this i was cut off from everything . I didnt even pick up the paycheck till after JULY 2010 Which the employer can confirm.

Now im a F/T student since july/ a single mother and im unemployed, training for a new career through worksouce. my appeal is on the 19th of August please help. I heard of an "AT Will Doctrine" but am not really sure if Florida complies with this. Is there anything, out there to help me with my rights and what can I do to protect myself here.
    Last edited by 126Lauren; 08-07-2010, 10:56 AM.

The At Will doctrine, which is honored by 49 out of 50 states, including Florida, and in some circumstances in the 50th, says that you can quit at any time and for any reason, and the employer can fire you at any time and for any reason not prohibited by law. So I'm not sure what it is that you are looking for.

Federal law says that you MUST be paid for any time you work. There is no qualifier allowing it to be withheld subject to completing training. And it sounds as if the only reason you were not paid, is that you assumed that there was no check and didn't bother to inquire, which is not the employer's fault.

So please clarify what laws you are seeking?