This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• w-2 Question and Payroll question. Florida

I have been working for the same employer for 3 years, Now i can honestly say that i have not kept every payroll stub and or w-2. I recently have suspicions that the taxes being taken out of my check are not matching up to what my w-2 states. I believe I am being taxed more than is being paid back on the governments end.

Can I legally request a copy of all of my payroll stubs for my time of employment under the freedom of information act?

Also whenever I received my w-2 it was never the hard copy from the government it was always a photo copy of it, is that legal, and can i demand my hard copies from my employer, not to mention he never gave it to us by the Jan 31st deadline it was always like a week late.

But ultimately can i legally request copies of all of these things from his accountant, and what if they fail to produce them?
    Last edited by nolan33980; 06-09-2009, 04:04 PM.

also one other addition, my w-2 has never had my correct home address, it was always some bogus address with some other city!

Comment

Are you a government employee?
      The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

No iam not, i work for a private owner of a cell phone company. Please read the first paragraph of my original post again as i have edited it.
        Last edited by nolan33980; 06-09-2009, 04:04 PM.

Comment

Then the FOIA does not apply. You can legally request the copies of your paystubs, in that no law says you cannot, but you cannot use the FOIA to force the issue.

Whether or not FL has any state law that would compell the employer to provide copies, I'll leave to one of the payroll people to say.