X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• repercussions for filing a law suit? California

Hi there!
    I'm about to go forward with a lawsuit in regards to unpaid OT/misclassification of exempt. As this is my first time doing so, I was wondering if there could be repercussions for filing and going forward with it? The individuals who I claim as references in this company are no longer working here, and are in fact the ones encouraging me to pursue this. My real concern is whether or not a future employer would be able to discover anything about this lawsuit with this company. I'd like to keep this under wraps so it would not hinder my chances at employment with another company.

Thanks for reading!

A law suit is public knowledge if the prospective employer decides to look for it and knows where to find it.

May I ask why you aren't just filing a wage claim with the DLSE?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Thanks for the quick response Pattymd.

Originally posted by Pattymd View Post
      A law suit is public knowledge if the prospective employer decides to look for it and knows where to find it.

May I ask why you aren't just filing a wage claim with the DLSE?
      I originally filed a wage claim with the DLSE. When they contacted my employer, they only granted me a tenth of what I was due, denying that they owed me anymore than that. Additionally, they denied me missed lunches & breaks. I have proof that all of these claims were unpaid for, which is why I decided to go for it. I do not see any alternative...but then again I am a newbie to law.

Comment

Was it detirmined by DLSE that you were indeed missclassified as exempt? What was the award your received for exactly?

Comment

Thanks for reading angel_28.

Originally posted by angel_28 View Post