This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flat Rate Auto Technician and Overtime California

I'm sure this has been answered, but the post I read weren't as clear as I wanted them to be. Well here goes. I am a flat rate automotive technician. I like most don't understand the overtime pay. From what I know the time I am on the job after 8 hours I get 1.5 times my pay. Does not matter what I clock for my flat rate. I will give you an example. This last pay period (2 weeks) I clocked 112.4 hours. I worked a total of 92.3 hours. So how I read this is I get paid 112.4 hours and 12.3 hours of overtime pay. I make $17 a flat rate hour so I should get 112.4*17=$1910.80 and 12.3*25.5=$313.65 Totaling $2224.45 for my paycheck before taxes. Am I understanding the law correctly? Although the law seem like it could be written that for my overtime I could be paid $16 a hour because thats the minimum required to pay a technician that has to supply their own tools, right?

Several things.
    - You are talking about a bi-weekly (every two weeks) pay period, which is fine. But overtime is not calculated on a pay period basis, it is ALWAYS calculated on a workweek basis. So your example is not useful.