Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What the law regarding timely pay on earned services commissions? California

My company has recently gone through some changes and I was singled out for a hefty reduction in salary. As a senior software consultant, my work most involves being a project manager, training, software design, and consulting - all professional services types of work.

I was offered a 'trial' commission by the President of the US division. Basically I will make 50% on every hour I bill the customer. This is independent from and in addition to my low salary. I became the lowest salaried person in the entire US division but with potential to make a lot more if I bill a lot of hours.

July was the first month, and our accounting department just calculated and invoiced for the month of July. When I inquired in mid-July about the commission payment schedule, no one gave me any answer. Now that we are almost in mid-August, I inquired again and got a from our CFO. He replied that I would get 75% of my commission now and the remainder pending payment from the customers.

Questions:
    1. Since my work for July all completed, aren't my commission considered earned and payable? I am not selling a product or a project, which may result in a difference between the initial sale price of a product/project and the final billing invoice. My work has to do actual hours worked.
    2. Can the company withhold payment of wages for a long period of time? I read somewhere that commissions/wages must be paid on a timely basis if calculable. When monthly invoices go out to the customers, my commission should be calculated and payable, right? We have an account executive (lives in PA) who gets the commission on a quarterly basis on actual payment made by the customer. He doesn't actually render any service: he sells my time to do an upgrade with a customer and I do the work.