X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When does a stipend become an actual wage? California

So here's the situation:

I am a firefighter with a municipal "combination" fire department. Combination meaning that some employees are full-time paid (3 shift Captains and the Fire Chief) and the firefighters and paramedics are considered "volunteer."

I use the term "volunteer" loosely, because we are required to work two 24-hour shifts a month at a minimum and there is very little that separates our work duties and appearance from a full-time paid career department at this point. Gone are the days of rag-tag, undertrained residents, responding to emergency calls in their own private vehicles. In fact, most of our firefighters actually reside outside of the city and maintain full-time employment in other fire service related jobs.

As of a few years ago, the city began paying stipends to the firefighters and paramedics in order to increase recruitment. Firefighters earn $50.00 per 24-hour shift while paramedics earn $100.00 per 24-hour shift and it is all under the guise of a "uniform allowance." About two years ago, they began actually taxing the stipend, so we now receive a W-2 and W-4, which in my opinion transitions from a "stipend" to an extremely under-paid fire department. Nobody balked at the taxation because the City overpays by a few dollars, so that after taxes, you still receive at least the $50.00 or $100.00 respectively.

Just recently, the paramedic stipend increased from $100.00 to $300.00 because the Department needed to increase paramedic recruitment and was having a hard time competing with our paramedics' full time jobs.

So after a long winded set-up, my question is this: when does a stipend transition to an actual wage? And when does that wage then become susceptible to the minimum wage standards? Because as of now, paramedic are averaging: $12.50/hour ($300 / 24-hour shift) while firefighters are averaging: $2.08/hour ($50 / 24-hour shift).