This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unemployment question California

I was just recently terminated from my job in retail that I had for four years. With less and less customers coming in, I could no longer make the sales goals and credit card openings required to keep my job. I tried all the way to the end to do my best at what they expected of me. Some days I wouldn't wait on any customers at all. I had to two reviews and then a month review till I was terminated. During my reviews I would improve on somethings and then others would fall. I always showed some improvement, but it wasn't enough to keep my job. I have been looking for work and did apply for unemployment, which I have never done before. I had my telephone interview the other day and they said that my work is contesting my unemployment because I broke an agreement with them. I think this agreement is the reviews I signed saying that I would make my sales goals. Here I am now worried, that I will not receive my unemployment because of their contesting it. I can't sleep at night wondering how I'm going to pay next months rent and car payment. My question is to you, will I be denied my unemployment? All EDD said to me was wait for a letter. I search for jobs everyday and no luck and I have to BA's. Does anybody know if they have a case against me. I was always a good employee. Retail sales are down. Doesn't EDD know that? Thank you

You would think EDD would know that (especially since it appears that state employees may not be able to buy much of anything in the near future, if they end up getting temporarily decreased to minimum wage) . However, if the employer is protesting, there has to be a hearing; they can't just ignore the employer's protest because they think it's invalid.

Your argument will be: