This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Teacher resigns before holiday California

Hi, I'm a teacher and I resigned from my position on the last day of school (Friday) before Christmas break. I resigned unexpectedly for both myself and my school due to family illness.

In my resignation letter I said that I was resigning effective January 1, even though I sent the letter in mid December. If the school accepted my resignation effective January 1 (they sent me a letter saying so), do they have to pay me for the 2 weeks of winter break between the date I sent the letter and the date the letter is effective? Technically I did not work those last 2 weeks, but no teachers worked because it was holiday break.

Payroll deducted those last 2 weeks of pay from the final check they owed me for tutoring I did in December, is that fair? Just making sure, thanks!

With a single exception that applies only to some employees in NH, no employer has a legal obligation to pay you beyond the last day you actually worked. If you did not work the last two weeks in December, they do not have to pay you for them, regardless of what date you made your notice effective.

The above presumes that no legally binding contract or CBA specifically says otherwise.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Agreed with last answer. However, I am uncomfortable anytime the word "teacher" is mentioned. There historically have been some fairly strange legal payment methods associated with teachers, such as spreading out the pay over 12 months even when 9 months only are worked. I know just enough about teachers pay to avoid answering these types of questions, because I have never bothered learning the related nuances.

Past the contract and/or historical practice issues.