Complete Labor Law Poster for $24.95
from www.LaborLawCenter.com, includes
State, Federal, & OSHA posting requirements

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Reporting Self-Employment while on UI (California) and what to say?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reporting Self-Employment while on UI (California) and what to say?

Hi all, thank you for all the great advice on here. I have a question that I've searched for but hasn't been answered in the forum, may be some of you know what the answer is.

I was laid off last year, and started collecting unemployment insurance benefits. I have gotten to the 1st extension for UI. In January, I worked as an independent contractor (1099) on a research project for a week and reported the $ that came from that project on the UI claim form for that week.

My mistake was instead of putting "self-employed" in the field where it asks you to name your "employer and address", I put the company who had paid me for the project.

So when the EDD letter came asking to verify whether this company was my last "employer," I filed a letter back to EDD stating that I had mistakenly put the company down as my employer and that I should have put "self-employed" b/c i was an independent contractor. I am positive that the company wrote back to EDD saying that I was an independent contractor as well.

Now i have a letter scheduling for the EDD phone interview. [I am presuming the interview has to do with the $ earned and NOT my mistake in listing the company as my employer instead of putting "self employed"... but may be I am wrong there?]

My questions are:

(1) Anyone have experience with this? What kind of specific questions will the interviewer ask (besides generic blurb the provided on the back of the notice-of-interview form)?

(2) Generally, does $ earned from self-employment have to be reported?