This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• working for EU based company in California

Hello and thank you for any responses to my questions, I've been working for a European based company for less than a year but I am a California resident working in CA. Various personal and health reasons have me wanting to depart my job, but reviewing our employee manual I think there are discrepancies between what I am due when I depart, and California law. Our HR director is a piece of work, and any conversation with her starts with her saying "No, I dont care what you think the law is, our handbook says this, and you agreed to it." I have avoided asking her for anything to this point, and she does not know I intend to leave. I have seen her berate other employees both via email and phone messages, and I'd prefer to get some opinions here before I take her on over these items. I'm considering leaving with only 72 hours notice, specifically to limit my interaction time with her. I'd prefer links to online resources if you do have opinions, I've tried searching the state website myself but it is a god awful mess.

1. Our employee handbook says we receive sick days in addition to vacation time as specified in our employment contracts, at the rate of 1/2 day per month up to a maximum of 6 days per calendar year. My employment contract states I receive 20 days vacation per calendar year. I have been working for the company for 5.5 months, 169 days as of Jan 1st. Our HR director sent an email out stating that we had accumulated 9 vacation days as of Jan 1st. She rounded away any fraction of a day, can she do this without paying us for the fraction of a day?

2. Is an exempt employee who works 169 days out of 365, 11 pay periods out of 24 due 9.16 vacation days (11/24 * 20) or 9.26 days (169/365 * 20) ?