This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Revoking my waiver for a duty-free lunch? California

I am a retail manager and when hired I was told that all manager have "on duty" lunches and we are paid for this time. We must be available to work during our meal break. Yesterday I was written up because I was seen on video taking a 15 minute nap during my lunch. It was stated that "I would not have been available for an emergency."

I did some research and found out that I am supposed to have a "duty free" lunch of 30 minutes unless I have signed a waiver. I am also allowed to revoke my waiver at any time. Well, I don't remember signing anything. I am planning on reviewing my personnel file to see if I did sign a waiver. If I did, I plan on revoking it. I am tired on not ever getting any breaks. I don't even get my 10 minute breaks.

I also understand that if I didn't sign a waiver then they have to pay me an hours pay for every day I didn't take a duty-free lunch. Is this true? That's a lot of money for me and every other manager at this company. Tens of thousands of dollars.

Here are my questions:

If I revoke my waiver do they have to comply and start letting me leave the site for lunch? Can they fire me because I revoke it?

Can I request the one hour of pay penalty from the company directly or should I file a claim with the Department of Labor?

This is maybe complicated.
    - I am going to let someone else address possible termination issues. Not my area of expertise.
    - The "law" associated with CA meals is CLC 512. That particular law is not specific on the lunch rules related to Exempt vs. Non-Exempt employees.