X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interested in IC California

Hello, knowledgeable contributors!

I have been presented with an opportunity to create a consultant/freelancer/IC position for myself and wondered where my best starting point would be here in CA. I'm new to the state and know that it has rules/regs/laws for anything and everything.

It wouldn't be as simple as creating a contract and abiding by the terms contained therein, would it?

I have read the articles from the IRS and the CA Tax websites but they don't really assist in the start-up phase. And the phrase "has a right to direct or control how the work is done" seems a bit . . . vague, doesn't it? If the customer signs my contract spelling out how I will proceed at a task, then don't I have the right to control the work? Again, I'm new at this but it seems rather wishy-washy. I could sign a well-worded contract that becomes null and void due to a perception by one party that is opposite of another. Hmm.

But I digress. . .

Look forward to your suggestions on where to look for start-up guidance and legal rightness!

Thanks again!

I am uncertain just what you are looking for.

- Are you trying to figure out if you are legally an employee or an independant contractor (IC)?
    - Are you asking how to set up a new business?

Generally speaking, if you becoming an IC is through an act of will by your one "customer", then legally you are not an IC. By legal definion, an IC generally:
    - Has many customers and is trying to get more. Generally advertises.
    - Has an investment in equipment and training. Maybe hires and fires their own employees. Provides all needed supplies. Can show a profit and loss.