This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Work schedule change California

I just got informed that from now on I will work 5 x 8 hour days a week and not 4 x 10 hours.

I was told that was because there is much less flexibility in "utilizing" the work hours in 4x10 than 5x8 and that you can not move someone from 5x8 scedule to 4x10 without consent but you can move people from 4x10 to 5x8 without any consent.

I work in the financial industry in an it department, non exempt.

What makes 4x10 so much more cumbersome than 5x8?

CA has daily overtime laws. Absent a very formal procedure called an Alternative Work Week, CA employers must pay overtime to Non-Exempt employees who work more then 8 hours in the day.
    http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/FAQ_Overtime.htm
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

Originally posted by NewToCA View Post
      I just got informed that from now on I will work 5 x 8 hour days a week and not 4 x 10 hours.

I was told that was because there is much less flexibility in "utilizing" the work hours in 4x10 than 5x8 and that you can not move someone from 5x8 scedule to 4x10 without consent but you can move people from 4x10 to 5x8 without any consent.

I work in the financial industry in an it department, non exempt.

What makes 4x10 so much more cumbersome than 5x8?
      Do you work overtime? are you salaried and considered exempt?
      Walter

www.Californialaborlaw.info
      "California Wage and Hour Class Action Attorneys"

Disclaimer: The above correspondence does not constitute legal advice nor establish an attorney-client relationship. You should seek the advice of independent legal counsel before relying upon, acting upon or not acting upon any information contained in this correspondence.

Comment