This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exempt Employee and its acutual working hours California California

I work in the corporate restaurant business as a managarial position in Orange County.
    I am an exempt employee, get paid salary.
    No matter how many hours I work, my pay-check states that 80 hours for 2 weeks.

As far as I know, all of our managerial personels in my restaurant never works less than 40 hours a week (unless you call-in sick), because of the working schedule that we have to follow every week.
    My avarage working hour per week is somewhere between 45 to 50 hours a week for my over 2 years of my employment.

My question is, I am not looking for getting an overtime pay or any kind since I understand my status of "Exempt Employee"
    Because of the recent recession economy, my corporate company decided to cut the hours on hourly employee's schedule to save labor costs.
    I also understand saving labor costs.
    What I don't understand is that, one day, our regional manager came in to have manager's meeting and told all the managerial personels to cover the cut-labor hours by management, and managers must work more than 50 hours a week and company will be monitoring working hours by managers.

This is where I have a problem.

My question is, can anybody tell me to work more than certain hours a week as a "manadatory" when I am an exempt employee in California without any kind of special reimbursement or additional pay??

Please somebody help!!
    Last edited by freedomworld; 09-02-2008, 11:06 PM.

The answer to your bottom line question is yes. The elephant in the room is, are the additional hours being spent doing nonexempt work and to what extent and is this a temporary or permanent situation that might jeopardize your exempt status.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

California labor law attorney