This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Consecutive Late Wage Payment w/o Notice California

Okay so here goes nothing, I have been working at this company for about 7 months now. Over the past two months wages have been late every time. I am an hourly employee and we are supposed to get paid semi-monthly (usually the 7th and 22nd, there is a pay date calendar posted in every office). Wages have even been up to a week and a half late.

They never give any notice (I'm in an office in the back) and just go on with their days. The joke of an HR department (the owners wife [who is a highschool dropout by the way]) has been in probably 3 or 4 days in the past month.

I have read previous posts and the sections in the labor law codes. For two months not knowing when I'm going to get paid is becoming a hassle. This weekend I am supposed to be moving into a new apartment, and lo and behold there is no paycheck today. Luckily I have barely enough money to cover first and last months rent.

What I want to know is what rights are there in this matter? Like I said I have read California Labor Code Section 207 that describes when wages must be paid. Is there anything I can do here?

Contact CA-DLSE. The problem is that penalties associated with the late payment of non-termination wages go to the state, not the employee.
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

Wow really? What exactly is the point in that then? I mean I realize that the DLSE would be on their case regarding the matter, however couldn't they just fire me because of a stupid at-will employment clause? Regrettably I need this job and they like to fire people that they don't get along with.

Comment

Originally posted by Sbkyle View Post
        Wow really? What exactly is the point in that then?
        Laws are supposed to have points?