This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mechanic - cutting pay when beat flat rate time California

I work as a diesel truck mechanic at a truck dealership in CA. I have only worked for them on a flat rate per hour basis. For ex., if I was given a job that my employer is charging the customer 5 hours for, then I would also get paid 5 hours (at my usual hourly rate), whether I did it in 3 hours or 8 hours. I could sometimes work a 40 hour week, but get paid for 50 hours because I had accrued 10 hours "gain time" (completing all work assigned in 10 hours less than the flat rates).

But for the last several months, when I have been beating the flat rate time, they have frequently been taking a substantial part of my gain time away from me. For ex, I just did a 5 hour flat rate job in 2 hours and was only paid 2.5 hours instead of the 5 hours that customer was charged.

Since I have complained about what seems to be an undocumented change in policy many times, the foremans now mostly refuse to even tell me what a job is supposed to pay (what the flat rate for the job is).

Is what they are doing with my pay now (skimming as far as I am concerned) a violation of CA and/or Fed labor law?

This is an over simplification, but basically there are two different types of laws - Labor law and Contract law. Labor law is for purpose of your question things like minimum wage and overtime. If these are conditions you are subject to (certainly on MW, maybe on OT), then there is nothing that can be done to waive these requirements. Labor law is basically something imposed on the employer that the employer can do nothing to avoid.