This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employment Applications Asking for Social Security California

I am applying for a new job. Is it legal for an employer to ask possible candidates for their social security number prior to even offering them a job let alone prior to hiring them? Additionally, there is a box on the application that asks if hired can you "verify that you have the legal right to work in the United States" which I will check yes.

Thank you. Awaiting someone's earliest reply.

Yes it is legal to ask for the SSN. It may not be a bright idea but it is legal. It is absolutely legal to ask if a candidate may legally work in the US.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

It is not illegal to ask for the ssn, but given the problems of identity theft, we discontinued the practice of asking for it on the application years ago.

It absolutely makes sense to ask if a person is legally eligible to work in the US. You aren't being asked HOW you are eligible (that could pose a problem), just that you are.
      Senior Professional in Human Resources and Certified Staffing Professional with over 30 years experience. Any advice provided is based upon experience and education, but does not constitute legal advice.

Comment

Thank you all for the fast responses. I am still curious why any employer would ask for a social on an application? I am reluctant to leave it on an application for the reason stated earlier, identify theft. Do you think it will hurt my chances of getting the job by leaving it blank or simply writing that it will be given upon job offer or hiring?

Thanks again.

Comment

If you don't trust the possible employer to keep your information safe and confidential why on earth would you want to work for them?