This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can you make employees leave work early

I work in the fast food industry. If you don't have the sales versus the scheduled labor can you force the employee's to go home early? Or can you have them go home early only if they agree? Please help if you can. This is an on going thing in our restaraunt. I need to find out what the laws are in California for this as to make me an effective supervisor in our company and not violate California labor laws. Thank you for the help.

You can send home employees when you want.

However, if you start cutting employee's time, you should make sure that you aren't discriminatory in your cuts.

Even if you have no such inclination, if you end up sending home only your, say, older workers you are going to catch a bunch of trouble.

Also, you should also look around for job fairs and start putting an ad in the paper. When you institute a policy where people can not count on a steady paycheck, you should prepare for most to leave.
    Not everything that makes you mad, sad or uncomfortable is legally actionable.

I am not now nor ever was an attorney.

Any statements I make are based purely upon my personal experiences and research which may or may not be accurate in a court of law.

Comment

Yes i understabd that. And do know everyone should rotate on going home early. I just know that California is very picky about the way things are done work wise. So was wondering if there is a law in california about hours being cut? And thanks for the advise.

Comment

I also would like to know what are happen if they refuse to leave work? At that point can you make them leave?

Comment

Yes, you can make them leave. Technically if they remain on the property and refuse to go, you could have them arrested for tresspassing but I'd make that a dead last resort.