X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Release Section 1542 California

Does anyone know what the following means in a release agreement?:

The parties hereby waive the provisions of section 1542 of the California Civil Code, which states:

"A general release does not extend to claims which the creditor does not know or suspect to exist in his favor at the time of executing the release, which if known by him must have materially affected his settlement with the debtor."

I am not a lawyer. I did a quick websearch and I am finding a lot of canned severance agreement forms which use that language. This is everything that I know on this subject.

http://contracts.onecle.com/navisite...03.02.21.shtml
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

annade: Does anyone know what the following means in a release agreement?: The parties hereby waive the provisions of section 1542 of the California Civil Code.

In essence, it means that you agree to waive all claims, known and unknown. Best illustrated by an example....

Let's say, you became aware that your last employer did not properly compensate you for overtime and meal breaks. Let's further assume your ex-employer wants to settle the matter with you. The last thing your ex-employer wants to do is have you bring up a claim for some currently unknown or unsuspected labor law violation in the future. To facilitate final closure on all claims (known and unknown), your company wants a complete release. Hence, the 1542 waiver.
      Barry S. Phillips, CPA
      www.BarryPhillips.com