This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California - Car accident while working

I'm a bit unclear about how the labor laws work for my situation. I am a part-time behavioral therapist, and my job requires me to drive to my client's homes to perform therapy. I get paid for drive time between clients (at a reduced rate) and I believe the labor laws affect my position differently from other jobs as we waive our lunch breaks, and we don't get split pay for days when our shifts are very far apart (ie 10am-12pm, 5:30pm-7:30pm).

I was driving inbetween clients when I got in a car accident involving 4 cars. I was 3rd in the chain, and as a result my car is undrivable and the insurance company claims it as a total loss. I cannot work as a result of not having a car, and I don't have health insurance at the moment. I am considering signing up for health insurance and going to get an exam as my neck/shoulders still hurt 5 days after my accident. My company is not compensating me for any of this time and I'm not sure how that applies to my situation with California labor laws. The time off that I'm getting from work is coming out of my vacation/sick days, but none of this time is paid. I also have to pay for my own medical bills, and 500 deductable for insurance. My insurance covers a rental car, but due to the nature of my job, I drive in a 50 mile radius of the office, so on many days I drive up to 200 miles. I'm not sure if my rental car will cover that mileage and I'm trying to work out a better schedule so I don't have to drive as far.