This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• final check accrued vacation for commission only employees California

I have searched and cannot seem to find a concrete answer. If we have commissioned only employees that accrue vacation benefits like everyone else upon termination how are the accrued vacation hours to be paid out. The employees have a minimum wage draw against commissions.

Would the accrued vacation be paid out at minimum wage?

In Suastez v Plastic Dress-up it was opinioned that with commissioned employees, an employer may limit vacation pay to the amount of the draw.

Any thoughts or is this correct.

If the employee took vacation, how much would you pay? Why would it be any different when they leave?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Originally posted by ElleMD
      If the employee took vacation, how much would you pay? Why would it be any different when they leave?
      commission only sales people usually only take vacation when they are happy with their commission pipeline and expected commissions. If they do not earn any commissions they are paid state min wage + any overtime if warrented as a draw. These are inside sales people.

If they accrue two weeks a year, take one week vacation in a month where they earn $10,000 in commissions and then resign with a weeks worth of accrued vacation on the books, how is the week remaining on the books paid out to the employee? If the employee generated no commissions for the month and wanted to take a week it would be paid out at min wage.

Comment

For my sales folks, our policy is to pay vacation based upon their base plus commission over the previous quarter.

I hated it when I was a technical recruiter and got minimum wage for vacation time and that counted as a draw to be paid for out of my commissions.