This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pregnancy Leave-FMLA New Jersey

I desperately need your help as I am new to dealing with FMLA and don’t want to misinform employee or make the wrong decision on behalf of the Company.

Our scenario is that the employee’s first day unable to work was 10/31/11 due to maternity.
    She had the baby on 12/05/2011 – normal delivery.
    I calculated her return to date as 1/24/2012 – 12 weeks of FMLA since she was out.
    I called her 2 weeks ago because she still hasn’t paid her portion of the insurance premium – she says she will.
    At that point she tells me that the doctor has cleared her to return back to work on 1/31/12 – that would be the 13th week.
    Now, another employee came and told me that the new mom is not coming back yet because of a new law extending her leave another 12 weeks.
    I haven’t spoken to the employee out on leave again but I’m assuming she is talking about NJFLI (6 weeks of pd leave).
    She hasn’t even called me to tell me that this is her plan. Isn’t she supposed to give us 30 days notice?

How do I handle this? I am so confused that I don’t know from what date I should start counting FMLA and NJFMLA and NJFLI.
    I will add that this employee was out 86 hours before her actual maternity leave because of illness during pregnancy.
    I think she has extended her FMLA right way longer than she was entitled to with all her absences.

Please help!!

Not being in NJ, I can't answer this but hopefully someone else can. I'm in a State with it's own version of FMLA and it runs concurrently with federal FMLA. An employee doesn't receive 12 weeks of FMLA plus "X" weeks of State FMLA. I'd anticipate that NJ is the same but let's hope another responder can chime in and tell us for sure.

Comment

Thanks Beth3. Hopefully someone can help!

Comment