This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Worked while on maternity leave Illinois

I am a remote sales manager in IL working for a NY based company who took 8 weeks of maternity leave. 2 weeks were my vacation and the remaining 6 weeks were unpaid FMLA.

I was asked to work during my time off - answer phone calls from customers/prospects, reply to emails and provide forecasts for what sales were closing while I was off.

Do I have any recourse from my employer to compensate me for the time I was on FMLA? Are there any other violations they may have? Am I in any violation as well?

Thanks!

Do I have any recourse from my employer to compensate me for the time I was on FMLA? Yes, they must compensate you for your work time. I suggest you discuss this with your employer and see what the two of you can work out. Assuming you are an exempt employee, the easiest thing would be to covert that to an hourly rate (e.g. $50,000/2080 hours per year = $24.04 per hour) and pay you on an hourly basis for the hours you worked.

Are there any other violations they may have? Maybe. If you objected to working while on FMLA and your employer required you to do so anyway, then your employer was in violation of the Act. You are entitled to uninterrupted FMLA time if you so wish.

Am I in any violation as well? Not at all. The Act doesn't prohibit you from working if you chose to.

FYI, you are entitled to 12 weeks of FMLA each calendar year/12 month period. Since you only took eight weeks, your still have an FMLA entitlement of 4 weeks PLUS the time you worked while on leave for the remainder of the calendar year/coming 12 months, depending on how your employer calculates FMLA eligibility.

Comment

I see a few challenges:
      1. I took FMLA starting 11/8/10 - well at least that's when I started my 2 week "vacation". Is there any "statute of limitations"?