This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Different benefits for different employees? - Massachusetts/Rhode Island

I am not sure if this question belongs here, or maybe more generally in the Discrimination or Disability forum, but I hope this is the right place.

I am a Massachusetts resident and an employee at a law firm in Boston. The firm is based in Providence, Rhode Island (the main office is there). The Boston office (where I work) is the second office.

The firm’s maternity leave policy gives fully paid time off to attorneys and paralegals – in other words, they receive their full pay while out on maternity leave, without the implementation of any temporary disability policy.

The rules are different, however, when it comes to staff/secretaries. The staff/secretary maternity leave policy states:

“Any female support staff employee is eligible to take maternity leave prior to and following delivery not to exceed a total of 13 weeks. Benefits and/or salary will be paid in accordance with the temporary disability policy.”

The temporary disability policy which (applies only to Providence office employees – there is no temporary disability insurance for Boston office employees) states:

“All regular full-time secretarial and other support staff employees of the Firm who are required to be absent for an extended period (i.e., more than one week) because of illness or injury, other than that which is compensable under the Workers Compensation Act, shall be entitled to their base weekly salary less an amount equal to the weekly benefit for which they are eligible under the Rhode Island Temporary Disability Act (applicable to Providence office employees only), for the number of weeks set forth below according to their years of service with the Firm.

Years of Service Number of Weeks
    6 months-2 years 2
    2-4 years 4
    4-9 years 6
    10 or more years 8”