X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employer not submitting FMLA & Short-term disability for me

Massachusetts
    I'm 8months pregnant and my doctor wrote a letter with weight lifting restriction. I'm an occupational therapist working in skill nursing rehab facility. I was told by my manager to get the letter to give him more weight for giving me more accommodation. So he recommended me to show my doctor of my job description in order to get accommodation...lighter case load.

Initially my doctor wrote no heavy lifting, only light work, which was the language used in my job description. Heavy work means lifting over 50lb. My company said there's no light duty in my job description. Either my doctor have to sign off my job description/letter to work without restriction or take FMLA. So I was told later that day to return to work I have to take option one. The following day, I did not produce such a letter because there was no way I was going to say I can lift more then 50 lb...and didn't sound like they were going to accommodate me at all. so I said I will take FMLA and file for short-term disability per their recommendation. Later that day, I emailed them to just confirm on paper the only two options given to me, because everything was verbal. Two days later, I received a letter via email saying the first letter was too vague, if the letter was more specific, then they would consider accommodation and it was I was wanted to apply for FMLA...so didn't sound like they supported or said that I am eligible for FMLA. As soon as I received the letter, I stated that I will get a more specific letter from my doctor since they gave me the hope that they may accommodate me. So the second letter stated that I can lift up to 50 lb but limit lifting between 20-50lb and I requested to hold off submitting FMLA/short-term disability, hoping that I will be able to go back to work...now hind sight, maybe I shouldn't have.