This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NJ Resident, Working in NY

I am a New Jersey resident and working with a very small firm of only about 17 employees in New York. The employee handbook does not mention anything about maternity leave. I am guessing since it is so small, it does not come under federal or state FMLA.

What else can protect my job and guarantee some kind of pay during my time off? What are my rights protect by Pregnancy Discrimination Act? What kind of money can I still get through Short-Term Disability? Will it be NY or NJ?

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Betty3; 12-01-2010, 11:08 PM. Reason: Don't know how/why but ad link was added to post.

You are correct. With only 17 employees, you do not fall under FMLA or under state leave laws of either NJ or NY.

You are VERY lucky that both NJ and NY have mandatory disabilty benefits. In 45 states you would have no guarantee of pay at all. As it is you will have SOME pay. Offhand I'm not sure which state would have jurisdiction but we have some posters with more experience in NJ/NY than I do and perhaps one of them will come by.

As for leave, since your employer has more than 15 employees you are entitled under the PDA to as much leave as a similarly situated employee who needed time off for pneumonia or a broken leg would get. There is no guaranteed or minimum amount; if the hypothetical employees above would get two weeks, you get two weeks; if they would get six weeks, you get six weeks; if they would get eight, you would get eight, and so on.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

In NJ SDI is paid for by both the employee & employer. I wouldn't think you would be paying into this since you work NY & employer in NY.

In NY SDI is paid for by employee & employer or employer may pay all. Since you