This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California - small company - right to return to work

I work for a small company based in CA that has 11 employees. I have been working for them full-time for the last 2 years. I am about to start my maternity leave 2 weeks before my due date and had previously discussed taking 12 weeks after the birth with my manager.

Up until today I thought everything was working out, we had discussed a new, but equivalent role, I would be returning to, etc. Tonight we had a discussion that included things like "we hope there will be a job for you" and other statements like that. We have no HR department so I don't really have anyone else to talk to about it and there are no other woman in the company with children.

My understanding of the California law was that my job was protected for up to 4 months, is that correct? I know that none of the federal laws applies because of the size of the company but I thought there was a California law that protected my job.

Thanks for any help.