This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CA Teacher confused California

I am a CA teacher, therefore ineligible for and PFL or SDI. I am due at the end of April. Given my 6 weeks of disability, I would have 1 week of school in June that would need to be covered by FMLA. I told my HR that I would want to use 1 week then, and then use the rest in the fall so I can spend some time at home. They were under the impression that you have to use all of the FMLA at once, which would mean the my summer vacation would be my FMLA leave.

I found this the Dept of Labor website, which states the exact opposite:

29 CFR 825.601 -
    Special rules for school employees, limitations on intermittent leave.

Section Number: 825.601
    Section Name: Special rules for school employees, limitations on intermittent leave.
    (a) Leave taken for a period that ends with the school year and
    begins the next semester is leave taken consecutively rather than
    intermittently. The period during the summer vacation when the employee
    would not have been required to report for duty is not counted against
    the employee's FMLA leave entitlement. An instructional employee who is
    on FMLA leave at the end of the school year must be provided with any
    benefits over the summer vacation that employees would normally receive
    if they had been working at the end of the school year.

Am I interpreting this correctly? That I get my summer vacation with benefits in addition to my FMLA which I can use in the fall?
    HELP!

Also, I am confused about CFLA and FMLA. My HR said that they run concurrently.
    I was under the impression that FMLA ran concurrent during my 6 wks of disability. Which would then give me another 6 weeks of FMLA. Then, when that was exhausted, CFLA would kick in for 12 wks which = 18 weeks total, 12 weeks unpaid.
    Is this correct? If so, do you have the website that documents this?

Thanks for your help!