This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Maternity Leave Question

I am a teacher in NJ and have some questions regarding both the federal and state's family leave acts. Currently, our teacher's contract is very vague regarding how much time we are granted for maternity leave. The union contract does not state how much time we get and how it must be taken.

There is a rumor that the district will be cracking down on future maternity leaves.

In the past, women have been able to work up until their due date and then use their sickdays to receive some paid time off and then NJ leave act provides 12 weeks of health insurance (I believe)

However my due date is at the very end of September and I have heard that the district may tell me that I cannot come back in September at all ,instead I will have to start my materninty leave regardless if my doctor has said I can work.

This, I as I understand, would severly affect my health insurance as we are only insured through the summer months because we sign our contracts that we will be back in September.

My question is, if I am not allowed by the district to return to work in September, then does my 12 weeks start as of the last day of school in June? That means I would be dropped off the benefits program sometime in September. My husband's open enrollment is not until October.

Secondly, How will this affect the time I can take after the baby is born? I though in NJ we were entitled to 12 weeks unpaid leave (but insurance) after the birth. Is that the law?

Can they tell me I can't come back to work? I believe that I do not qualify for NJSDI because we can purchase disability insurance privately (we do not pay into the system via payroll deduction). I do not have private insurance because this pregnancy is completely unplanned.

What are my legal rights? Is it different when you are a teacher working under a union contract?