This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NYC Maternity leave laws New York

I am a high school teacher working out of a Long Island public school for the past 4 months. I am pregnant and due in a month. I know that I am not eligible for the FMLA protection, however, I am wondering about any other laws that protect me.

I was told by my employer that I will not be covered for a six week leave but rather only for the days I have in my sick bank (13). In addition, I will not have health insurance past those 13 days. They suggested that the only alternative I have if I can't return after my 13 days is to apply for a leave of absence which will not allow me to return to work until next September- with out pay or insurance. Furthermore, I was told that I don't qualify for disability either.

Does this seem right?

It seems a little light to me but I don't see anything that screams violation at me. Not the way I would handle it but if FMLA does not apply there's usually very little job protection. When I get back to my source material tomorrow I can see what, if any, NY has in the way of family leave. However, I don't know why you wouldn't qualify for disability; NY is one of the very few states that provides disability at the state level.

Elle, as our resident expert in school systems, what do you think?
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

I am actually really interested in this answer as well...

Comment

cbg - I thought also that N Y required (mandated) DI coverage (which included pregnancy) but I don't know any further details including how it applies to public school teachers. Original OP's post is from 1-5 but someone else is also interested in answer.
        Elle - where are you?