X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California maternity benefit laws

Hi,

I am 24 weeks pregnant, due on October 1 and have some questions as to what I am entitled to in terms of maternity benefits.

The company I work for has 55+ employees and is based largely in New York. I work full time out of our California office (which has a total of 2 employees) and have been with the company as an employee as of November 1, 2005. Prior to joining the company as an employee, I worked as a consultant from August 9th - October 31, 2005.

My questions are as follows:

- Since I will only have been with the company 11 months as of my due date, am I covered by FMLA and the California Paid Leave Act?
    - Do I accrue time as an employee while being paid disability? I know that I get 6 weeks post birth and I think 4 weeks prior to birth, right? If so, this would put me over the 12 month mark, correct?
    - How much time can I take off and still have them hold my job?
    - Are there any nuances associated with the fact that the company is based in New York? FYI, it is registered as a company in California.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Yes you would qualify for PFL in the state of California, assuming the primarily NY based company has paid SDI into California. (You said they are registered so it is probably ok)

It is not a statue on SDI - you are paid so long as you are certified as unable to work by a doctor. So the "usual" length is UP to four weeks before and 6 weeks after birth for a regular delivery and 8 weeks for a c-section. Frequently, too, CA sends out the recertification on the extra two weeks for the c-section. Likewise, if your doctor for medical reasons wanted you out longer, he or she could request that.

FMLA sounds like it is not a benefit to you for a few reasons: your length of service as well as number of employees located at your work location. So that is likely not going to matter here.