X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CA Work week pay question

Hey there,

Can someone direct me to the answer to these questions for a CA employer:

1. If a person starts work in one pay period (i.e., 10pm on Friday and works until 5am on Sat and payperiod ends on Friday at 11:59pm), how do we pay them? Do we pay them all hours or only hours that fall within the payperiod?

2. How does this apply to overtime payment (CA is a 8 hour/40 hr workweek OT state)?

Thanks for your help (no sarcastic answers needed!),

tracyjj

1. You would still pay them by pay period. If the pay period ends 2 hours after they start, then you pay thme for 2 hours for that pay period.

2 Your workweek wouldn't change just because the person started toward the end of it. The workweek for OT purposes stays the same.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Thanks Ellen

That's what I thought. Believe it or not, I called someone from the CA's Dept of Labor Standards Enforcement yesterday and she told me the opposite. But, she was very condesending and rude and I didn't trust her source. If you have a place where you can point me to to verify this, that would be great. But, I believe you are right! Thanks again, tracyjj

Comment

The largest measurement of time for purposes of determining overtime is the workweek, the 7-consecutive day period as defined by the employer. In California, there is also daily overtime, which again, is the same concept, but for a 24-hour period.

http://www.dol.gov/dol/allcfr/Title_...CFR778.105.htm
        I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment