X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unique situation with a couple questions

Hello,

Let me outline my employment situation first. I am a resident of Rhode Island working for a company based in Florida. My work location is in Iraq. We are working as a sub contractor, the contractor we are working for is working for the US Government.

Prior to going to Iraq we were required to go to Ft Bliss TX where we took care of various administrative tasks such as shots and paperwork. At this time we were also issued and signed for some equipment such as body armor, helmet and sleeping bag etc.

First issue. What labor laws would i fal under? RI or FL? where do Fed laws play into this?

The company is telling us that if we quit and go to another company here in Iraq and do not procede to Ft Bliss to out-process then they are will hold our last paycheck. The thought is that the company is doing this to deter people from leaving the company since the equipment that is issued to each individual is the responsibility of the individual and they must pay for lost items. My question is are they allowed to withhold the wages for work already performed?