Complete Labor Law Poster for $24.95
from www.LaborLawCenter.com, includes
State, Federal, & OSHA posting requirements

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Status on the books VS what i've been told.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Status on the books VS what i've been told.

Hello Forum,

I am a computer / software programmer in FL. After reading the exemption clause related to computer work, I believe that I am qualified to be salary exempt. I was told I was switched to exempt status 2-3 years ago.

My question / problem is that 6 to 8 months ago our company was bought out by a large corporate machine. Since the purchase, 1/2 our software team (including all the managers) were fired. The work load was simply deferred to the remaining employees, and my 8 hour a day job became a 12-14 hour a day job. I never had a problem putting in minor overtime each day, but recently there have been times where they requested I put in crazy long days (sometimes 22 hour shifts, and expected me to return the next morning at 8:30 AM for yet another shift). This was during a hardware crash, but the said 'crisis' and crazy overtime lasted 4 weeks.

Anyways, I confronted the new management about their overtime requests. They said it was expected, and they are not compensating me any more money or benefits because I am a salary exempt employee ...

I called their corporate HR department, only to find out that I am in the books as being NON-EXEMPT.

I spoke with my manager again presenting the new information, and he said he knew, but it was a clerical mistake in the books. I am more than untrusting of my new managers, and decided to investigate more, only to find out that the said 'clerical error' in the books has been known about for 4+ months.