Complete Labor Law Poster for $24.95
from, includes
State, Federal, & OSHA posting requirements


No announcement yet.

Accrued vacation due when business sold

This topic is closed.
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Accrued vacation due when business sold

    I work for a business in Florida that has been sold. I have 19 vacation days accrued. I understand that Florida law does not require paying unused vacation time. My employer has agreed, in writing, to pay accrued time.
    My problem is the calculation. I am salaried with commission but have a guarantee (in writing) of $6500 per month. The problem is that I will only recieve vacation time based on a weekly salary of $800 or $3467 per month.
    I have never questioned the calculation in the past, but all my emplotees (including salaried and commission employees) have been calculated on their last years total pay divided by the working days in that year. I have never been paid under the $6500 in any month when vacation time was used.
    I know I have a point but do I have any recourse?

  • #2
    I think you have a point, too. After all, at 40 hours/week, $800/month isn't even federal minimum wage, let alone state minimum wage. However, the only legal recourse you have would be to file a civil suit.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.


    The forum is intended for informational use only and should not be relied upon and is not a substitute for legal advice. The information contained on are opinions and suggestions of members and is not a representation of the opinions of does not warrant or vouch for the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any postings or the qualifications of any person responding. Please consult a legal expert or seek the services of an attorney in your area for more accuracy on your specific situation.