This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salaried Employee-Mandatory OT

I work for a large national retailer. I have been a salaried manager for almost two years. This year we were told that we were moving to mandatory 6 day work weeks. Previously, we were required 9 hours a day, 5 days a week. We now must work 6 days a week , 9 hours a day. In the past we have worked the same schedules through the holidays. My question is when I am putting in 9 more hours a week it drops my hourly dollar average under 10 dollars an hour before taxes. Other managers in the company are also very upset about having to put in more hours during the holidays. Most managers work more that 45 hours a week if they have things to get done, being told we have to be here is another thing. The way I look at it is if you want me to work a minimum of 54 hours my pay should increase with that. I feel that we are being strong armed into working outside of what I agreed to when I was hired.

Since you are a manager in the retail industry, I am assuming you are an exempt employee ("salaried" is merely a pay method). As an exempt employee, you are required to work any hours necessary to complete your job and the employer is not required by law to provide any additional compensation, ever, no matter how low your "average hourly wage" goes. The federal minimum salary for exempt employees is $455/week; your weekly salary must be at least that amount to be considered exempt.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment