X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quit due to hostile work environment

Hi,
    I live in NJ. I was working as an internal annuity sales for a financial co. for 18 months. But because of hostile/stressful work environment I quit my job in Aug 04 to seek another position. The work environment has become unbearable and it was affecting me mentally, physically and emotionally. I have informed them of the situation after filling out the "Exit Interview Feedback" (which was voluntary). Needless to say my comments were a little harsh but true. I have been undergoing infertility treatments for over 4 years, and I believed this kind of stress & hostility is not helping with my medical condition.

In Jan 05, I filed for unemployment, it was initially approved and now they are witholding it because my previous employer informed them that I voluntary left the company. Now, the unemployment office sent me a letter to set up a telephone interview on Feb. 23rd - its a fact-finding interview to determine my eligibility for benefits.

My question is, am I eligible for unemployment? Right after I quit my job I got pregnant. I am now 7th months pregnant and I don't think any employer will hire me. Do I have a case? Should I bother to tell the unemployment agency that I am pregnant and that I was going through infertility treatments that's affecting my health situation.

I would appreciate any advice you can give.

Thanks,

miladb

Eligibility for Unemployment

Though the appeals officer will make the final determination, it doesn't look positive for you to receive unemployment. According to the NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development, "If you voluntarily quit your job without "good cause connected with the work," or if you voluntarily retire, you may be disqualified for benefits. "Good cause connected with the work," means that your reason for leaving was not only a good reason but was also directly related to the job.