This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Converted from employee to 1099, eligible for unemployment? New York

A company has terminated all its permanent employees, and offering us to sign up a contract with them now as a part-time independent contractors, with hourly pay, working on 1099. I had been working for this company for a few years. Besides all the other considerations, I wonder if I will be eligible for an unemployment benefits in case if in 2-3-4 months this employer fires me, me being on 1099 at that point?
    I appreciate your replies

If you are genuinely an IC you are not eligible for UC. You can try and make a case that you weren't really an IC, but an employee. The state ultimately decides if you get benefits or not.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

I thought we already established in your other thread that refusing the offer was in your best interest (and also your best bet at receiving unemployment)
      The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

and any money paid as an IC doesn't count as UI wages because the contracting firm is not paying into UI for you.

Each state has a lookback period which is usually 4 rolling quarters not including the current one. The longer you wait to make a claim the less prior employee income you will have in the calculation.
        Last edited by hr for me; 01-05-2016, 06:33 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by cbg View Post
          I thought we already established in your other thread that refusing the offer was in your best interest (and also your best bet at receiving unemployment)