This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VA Salaried EMployee Exemption--COmputer Professional Virginia

I've been working for a company for several years as a salaried employee. I'm not sure that my work (or that of my salaried co-workers) falls under the exemptions outlined in the FSLA. My department has at most 2 employees, as do the other departments in my company. If I ever provide 'management' of other employees, it's rare and 1 employee maximum. My primary duty while at the office is tech support. My company resells software, so when a deal is signed, I talk to the customer, gather info to customize the customer's system, set the software up to the customer's liking, install the system, and train the customer on its use. I then provide remote technical support for the customer.

I understand that gathering info from the customer and 'programming' the system (which really entails setting up all options the way the customer wants) may meet the profile of one of the exemptions, but this comprises a small percentage of my daily duties. I program a system on average 1-3 times per month. Most of my time is spent providing phone tech support to existing customers. When a customer has a hardware issue, I am required to drive to the site and replace or repair the hardware. Drives can be up to 5 hours one-way, so it's not uncommon to drive to spend 2 or 3 hours at my workplace, drive for 8 hours, and perform on-site hardware repair/ replacement for 2 hours.