This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employer won't pay me my final pay because of our contract

In our contract it states that my employer can terminate employment at any time but I must give 30 days notice. It does not state what will happen if I don't provide the 30 day notice, only that my paycheck will be withheld until all equipment is returned. Due to circumstances, I provided only 2 weeks notice, though on the date if notice my contract was up the next week. My last worked day was August 22, 2014. In his emails he has stated that he will not pay me, it has been over two months. I contacted wage and labor and they said since I was a private teacher, they couldn't help me. Does anyone know where to start or if he can even withhold my paycheck? He also has not been very nice and is demanding that I contact him by phone which I have no intention of doing. Thank you for any insight!

If by "private teacher" you mean "independent contractor" then it's true, the DOL can't help you. If you are an independent contractor, I recommend that you do the following:

1. Have your contract reviewed by an attorney to determine whether or not your former client should pay you, based on the terms of the contract.

1. If you should be paid, sue your former client in small claims court.

Comment

I was an employee but not a teacher with a school district. There is no reference to pay being withheld unless the employee has equipment, which I already turned it. The contract states that I must give thirty days notice, but does not state anything beyond that (no pay, nothing). My contract was also up prior to thirty days and during the two week notice. I have left a message with PA Labor and Industry which the Hour and a Wages referred me to (because I am a teacher or tutor). I suppose I will have to contact an attorney. Thanks!

Comment