This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ok a few questions from a NEW manager. California

I am a brand new manager for a pretty big company here in California. I was never trained or told that I needed to know in-depth labor laws so I didn't really bother to look that deep in to them, but lately some things have not been looking so hot so I have started to question several things after some employees brought some things to my attention. I'll ask in no particular order.

1. Does CA have a "Minimum" number of hours an employee is to work per week? ( whether they are labelled as on call or part time )

2. Is there a "Minimum" number of hours an employee is to work per DAY? Same labels apply. ( i.e. Is it legal for an employer to work an employee less than a certain number of hours in a shift.

3. This company has a "Non- Compete" clause ( the company is headquartered in New Mexico ) that all employees have to sign, I have read that non compete clauses are void in CA unless a very specific situation is present. Now, in this clause it states that upon signing you agree that you're signing and agreeing to NM state laws or some mumbo jumbo. I don't remember it specifically I'll get the exact copy if its actually relevant.

4. For a "salary" manager, is it legal to "require" said manager to work 40 hours during OPEN hours and 2 hours during CLOSED hours for inventory, and ALSO go do bank deposits daily ( that typically take 30-40 minutes )

5. I work in a mall, and the mall has their own policies about employees being away from the store when nobody else is there for anything over 10 minutes at a time etc. That being said I have NEVER actually taken a 30 minute lunch break in an 8 hours shift because of said rule. I go to food court, grab food, and bring it back and eat at kiosk sometimes dealing with customers in between. Not sure about this one, I feel like its a tough one but I would actually like to enjoy a lunch for once.