This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can my former employer sue me? California

I'm a salesman in California. I've been in the business for several years, working for my most recent employer for a year.

Recently, one of my co-workers approached me with an offer. He has a friend in management with a competitor and he was entertaining an offer to go work for them. He asked me if I wanted to go with him.

Four of us interviewed with the new company and were offered jobs. Three of us quit at the same time (today), the fourth is waiting to close a couple of days to finish a few deals he is working on.

A few hours after I told my immediate boss I was quitting, one of the company owners called me. He told me that he knew that I was part of a larger group that was going to work for a competitor and that he would sue me if I had any further contact with any of his employees. Some of these people are friends. I'm Facebook friends with many of them.

Can he sue me for calling these people on their cell phones when they are not at work?

The answer to any question that starts, Can (fill in the blank) sue me is yes. Anyone with a filing fee can sue for any reason. I can sue you because I don't like your shirt. Doesn't mean I'll win, but I can.

I doubt that he can successfully sue you for talking to these people. It is not impossible that he could win a suit to stop the other employer from hiring his people. I don't say he has a slam dunk, but I have seen a successful suit in this instance. It was not in your state and the circumstances were not exactly as you've described, but the suing employer won.

Consult local counsel.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Originally posted by cbg View Post